The name of the town is mentioned first in a charter of László (Kun) the IV. in 1279. In 1820 they got the right to hold markets and the village became a town. A multi-storey townhall was built in 1826 on the main square – this was the first multi-storey townhall in the counrty. Sándor Petrovics and Mária Hrúz (parents of Sándor Petőfi) were announced in the reform church in 1818 and Petőfi’s brother was baptised also here. The family lived here till 1841. In 1906 the grat Hungarian actress,... tovább ress, Kornélia Prielle was buried here. She was the first “Eternal Member” of the National Theatre. The house of the old “Mumble” – Attila Jozsef’s grandfather can be still seen at the edge of the town. The ethnographic collection is situated in an old peasant house with oroginal furniture and a so called smoky kitchen.Outside of the town there are Kiskunsági-channel and Átok-channel (Curse-channel). On the bank of Átok-channel a couple of small lakes (Nagytőzeg, Kistőzeg, Boczka) Kunság wine district offers good quality wines. According to a charter from 1380 wine was delivered to the royal court of Nagy Lajos.Visitors can take part in wine tasting in Duna-Völgye Wine-yard.
Please share your experiences about this settlement!